Campus News

The Search for a new President Begins

President Search Committee begins searching

By Jorge Rosas | 03/24/16 | Updated 03/24/16 | Posted in Campus News

It has been 18 years since Walter Harrison has been elected as president. The presidential search committee is comprised of seven Regent members, three faculty members, one staff member and one student.

All 12 members have been carefully chosen by the board of Regents, and with the committee being recently announced they began the search process by reaching out to students and faculty for feedback.

Campus meetings were held through March 7 and 8 for students, faculty and staff so that they can voice their concerns, thoughts and suggestions.

As of right now the committee is in the process of writing the position description which entails the history of the university along with what the community has to offer and of course what they are looking for in a candidate.

Susan Fitzgerald the Senior Adviser to the president is excited for the process, she hopes that the students and faculty are equally as excited and that they share their input.

Committee Members: Regents:

Kathy Behrens ’85—College of Education, Nursing and Health Professions Committee Chair Member, Board of Regents

Lucille Nickerson Chair, Board of Regents

Dominic Fulco III ’81—College of Arts and Sciences Vice-Chair, Board of Regents

Arnold West Vice-Chair, Board of Regents

Elsa Chin A’07, ’09—Hillyer College and College of Arts and Sciences Member, Board of Regents

Gary Masse ’85—College of Engineering, Technology, and Architecture Member, Board of Regents

Girish Rishi M’92—Barney School of Business Member, Board of Regents


Robert Black '79—The Hartt School Professor of Double Bass, The Hartt School

Deborah Kidder Professor of Management Chair, Department of Management, Marketing, and Entrepreneurship Barney School of Business Chair, Faculty Senate

John Nordyke Professor of Visual Communication Design, Hartford Art School


Charles Amerson ’96, M’99—The Hartt School and College of Arts and Sciences Director of Student Centers


Yonina Bykov ’17—College of Arts and Sciences and College of Education, Nursing and Health Professions Undergraduate Student

Back to Main Page